Uniting Church in Australia

The Uniting Church in Australia (UCA) is the third largest Christian denomination in the country.  Around 100,000 UCA members regularly attend worship. The UCA is also one of the largest providers of community services in Australia and is well known for its commitment to social justice and willingness to tackle difficult issues.

In 1977 people from three Christian traditions — Congregational, Methodist and Presbyterian — established the Uniting Church in Australia.

In more than 2,500 local congregations Uniting Church members:

• Worship
• Seek to follow Jesus
• Care for each other
• Provide services in the community
• Learn about God
• Seek to live faithfully and joyfully

These churches range from congregations with hundreds of members and thriving migrant communities to tiny churches of a dozen people in rural or remote Australia.

The Uniting Church is not organised in a hierarchy, but by groups of women and men, lay and ordained, consulting together, usually making decisions by consensus, in each council of the Church that has a responsibility for a particular area of the church’s life.

An Inter-conciliar Church

The Uniting Church in Australia is made up of a series of inter-related councils:

• The Congregation (local churches)
• The Presbytery (regional area)
• State and territory Synods
• The national Assembly

Each council has its distinct tasks and recognises the limits of its responsibilities in relation to other councils.

Locally, regionally and nationally, Uniting Church government is entrusted to representatives, men and women, bearing the gifts and graces with which God has endowed them.